Sign up to remove ads. We'd love to have you amongst our ranks! Just Click here!


gmc forums   gmc forums


Go Back   GMC Forums > GMC Vehicles No Longer In Production > GMC Sonoma Forum

Advertisements
cars connected social network






Notices

GMC Sonoma Forum Forum for discussions regarding the GMC Sonoma


GMC Forum: Could the upper part of my gauge cluster be bad?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-12-2014, 09:23 PM
Brandon317 Brandon317 is offline
Junior Member
Drives a
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Default Could the upper part of my gauge cluster be bad?

I just purchased a 2002 gmc sonoma v6 and the the RPM, MPH, Fuel and Temperature Gauges do not work at all. The Battery and oil preasure gauges do work. I even tried switching the Stepper Motors around in an attempt to better help determine whats going on and to my surprise the stepper motor switch didn't help anything at all but even after I switch them the only gauges that work is the battery gauge and the oil pressure gauge the rest of them seem not to even get power. Could the upper part of the cluster be bad? Is it in the ignition switch? what the heck could be going on? I will attempt to use a Multi-meter tomorrow but until then could someone give me a little hope and shine some light on this situation?

Thanks guys

Brandon
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 08-12-2014, 09:42 PM
lmleck lmleck is offline
Member
Drives a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 75
Default

I am sure you checked the fuses.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2014, 10:37 PM
Brandon317 Brandon317 is offline
Junior Member
Drives a
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Default

there is only one fuse for the whole cluster right?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2014, 01:18 PM
Brandon317 Brandon317 is offline
Junior Member
Drives a
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Default

Problem solved. The problem was a fuse "ign Rdo" or something like that, Someone had taken the 10A fuse out of the box and I plugged a new one in and everything started to work. I thought the problem was with the stepper motors inside the gauge cluster so I fool around with it and popper the fuel gauge need off without thing to mark its place so i am unsure if the fuel gauge is even accurate. is there anyway to reset the gauge or will it automaticly take care of its self? thanks guys
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cluster, electrical issues, gauge
Registered members see less ads. Please sign up! We'd love to have you...

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
gmcowners.com recognizes that "GMC", it's logos and various model names and numbers are registered trademarks of the General Motors Corporation. These terms are used for identification purposes only. gmcowners.com is not affiliated in any way with the General Motors Corporation, GMC or any other company listed herein. All information on this site is the opinion of its members and not the opinion of the site itself. ©2017 Madison Ross Media Group. All rights reserved. Content published on GMCOwners.com requires permission for reprint.


MADISON ROSS MEDIA GROUP MARKETPLACE
Need products for your GMC Truck? Check out your options at the links below:

Looking for something a little sporty? Believe it or not, Kia may have something for you. The Kia Stinger is a large sport-oriented hatchback sedan in the mold of the Audi A7.